Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Council held at the Town Hall Chapel Road Worthing

16 December 2014

The Mayor, Councillor Vic Walker
The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Michael Donin

Councillor Noel Atkins Councillor Roy Barraclough Councillor Keith Bickers Councillor Joan Bradley Councillor Callum Buxton *Councillor Michael Cloake Councillor Edward Crouch Councillor James Doyle *Councillor Graham Fabes Councillor Norah Fisher Councillor Diane Guest *Councillor Paul High Councillor Paul Howard Councillor Daniel Humphreys Councillor Charles James Councillor Susan Jelliss Councillor Kevin Jenkins Councillor Mary Lermitte

Councillor Heather Mercer Councillor Sean McDonald Councillor Louise Murphy Councillor Mark Nolan Councillor Roger Oakley Councillor Luke Proudfoot *Councillor Clive Roberts Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes Councillor Keith Sunderland Councillor Bob Smytherman *Councillor Victoria Taylor Councillor Hazel Thorpe Councillor Bryan Turner Councillor Val Turner Councillor Vicki Vaughan Councillor Vino Vinojan Councillor Paul Yallop

*=absent

Apologies for absence had been received from Councillor Cloake.

C/048/14-15 Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to make any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests, none were declared.

C/049/14-15 Appointment of Honorary Alderwoman and Honorary Alderman

The Mayor explained that under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council was required to hold a Special meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman or Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council and to the Borough.

(a) Christine Brown

On the proposal of Councillor Hazel Thorpe, seconded by Councillor Val Turner, it was

RESOLVED, that pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the honour and title of Honorary Alderwoman of the Borough be bestowed on Christine Brown in grateful recognition of her eminent and distinguished service rendered to Selden Ward, the Borough Council and the Borough between 1995 and 2014

(b) Tom Wye

On the proposal of Councillor Paul Yallop, seconded by Councillor Michael Donin, it was

RESOLVED, that pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the honour and title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough be bestowed on Tom Wye in grateful recognition of his eminent and distinguished service rendered to the Marine Ward, the Borough Council and the Borough between 2003 and 2014

(c) Charles John Ellerington James

On the proposal of Councillor Susan Jelliss, seconded by Councillor Kevin Jenkins, it was

RESOLVED, that pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the honour and title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough be bestowed on Charles John Ellerington James in grateful recognition of his eminent and distinguished service rendered to the Marine Ward, the Borough Council and the Borough between 2010 and 2014

The M	/layor c	leclared	the meeting c	losed at 20.38	pm, it hav	ing commenced	d at 20.00pm.
-------	----------	----------	---------------	----------------	------------	---------------	---------------

Mayor